The origin of the Sumerian civilization

The origin of the Sumerian civilization

The origin of the Sumerian civilization in Mesopotamia It is still debated today, but archaeological evidence indicates that they established roughly a dozen city-states in the fourth millennium BC.

These generally consisted of a walled metropolis dominated by a ziggurat, stepped pyramid shaped temples, while the houses were built from marsh reeds or mud bricks, and complex irrigation canals were dug to harness the sediment-laden waters of the Tigris and Euphrates for agriculture.

The main Sumerian city-states include Eridu, Ur, Nippur, Lagash and Kish, but one of the oldest and most extensive was Uruk, a thriving center of commerce that counted almost 10 kilometers of defensive walls and a population of between 40,000 and 80,000 inhabitants.

At its peak, around 2800 BC, most likely this was the largest city in the world.

One of the biggest sources of information on ancient Mesopotamia is the call «King's List', A clay tablet documenting the names of most of the ancient rulers of Sumer, as well as the length of their reigns.

Even though they shared a common language and cultural traditions, Sumerian city-states engaged in almost constant wars that gave rise to several different dynasties and reigns.

The list is a strange mix of historical facts and myths (a primitive king is said to have lived for 4300 years), but also includes the only female monarch of Sumer in the way of Kubaba, a "woman innkeeper" who supposedly took the throne in the Kish city-state sometime around 2500 B.C.

Very little is known about the Kubaba's reign or how she came to power, but the list credits her with "affirm the foundations of Kish" Y forge a dynasty that lasted 100 years.

Images: Stock Photos - Fedor Selivanov and Homo Cosmicos on Shutterstock


Video: Sumerian Civilization..in five minutes or less

Der Ursprung der sumerischen Zivilisation

Der Ursprung der sumerischen Zivilisation

Der Ursprung der sumerischen Zivilisation in Mesopotamien Es wird noch heute diskutiert, aber archäologische Beweise zeigen, dass sie im vierten Jahrtausend v. Chr. Ungefähr ein Dutzend Stadtstaaten gegründet haben.

Diese bestanden im Allgemeinen aus einer ummauerten Metropole, die von a dominiert wurde Zikkurat, Stufenpyramidenförmige Tempel, während die Häuser aus gebaut wurden Sumpfschilf oder Lehmziegelund komplexe Bewässerungskanäle wurden gegraben, um das mit Sedimenten gefüllte Wasser des Tigris und des Euphrat für die Landwirtschaft zu nutzen.

Die Haupt Sumerische Stadtstaaten einschließen Eridu, Ur, Nippur, Lagash und Kish, aber einer der ältesten und umfangreichsten war Uruk, ein florierendes Handelszentrum, das fast zählte 10 Kilometer Verteidigungsmauern und eine Bevölkerung zwischen 40.000 und 80.000 Einwohnern.

An seinem Höhepunkt, um 2800 vWahrscheinlich war dies die größte Stadt der Welt.

Einer der Größten Informationsquellen über das alte Mesopotamien ist der Anruf «Königsliste', Eine Tontafel, die die Namen der meisten alten Herrscher von Sumer sowie die Länge ihrer Regierungszeit dokumentiert.

Obwohl sie eine gemeinsame Sprache und kulturelle Traditionen teilten, Die sumerischen Stadtstaaten führten fast ständige Kriege das führte zu mehreren verschiedenen Dynastien und Herrschaften.

Die Liste ist eine seltsame Mischung aus historischen Fakten und Mythen (Ein primitiver König soll 4300 Jahre gelebt haben), schließt aber auch ein die einzige weibliche Monarchin von Sumer im Weg von Kubaba, eine "Wirtin", die angeblich den Thron in der Kish Stadtstaat irgendwann um 2500 v.

Über die ist sehr wenig bekannt Kubabas Regierungszeit oder wie sie an die Macht kam, aber die Liste schreibt ihr "bekräftigen die Grundlagen von Kish"Y. schmiede eine Dynastie, die 100 Jahre dauerte.

Bilder: Stock Fotos - Fedor Selivanov und Homo Cosmicos auf Shutterstock


Video: Was kam vor der Geschichte? Der Ursprung der Menschheit