They recreate the face of a Druid woman from the Iron Age in Scotland

They recreate the face of a Druid woman from the Iron Age in Scotland



We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

A student at the University of Dundee has achieved recreate the face of one of Scotland's oldest Druid women, believed to have been in his 60s when he died during the Iron Age.

Karen Fleming, a forensic art and facial identification master's student, has recreated the head of a woman believed to be from Stornoway, on the Isle of Lewis.

The 3-D wax reconstruction represents a toothless woman, nicknamed «Hilda«, Which is believed to have more than 60 years, an impressive feat back then.

Fleming says that Hilda, although she is thousands of years old, displays many physical attributes that are still recognizable today.

Fleming explained that:

Hilda was a fascinating character to recreate. It's clear from looking at his skull that he had no teeth before he died, which is not too surprising considering people's diet back then, but it was impressive to confirm how long he lived. The life expectancy of a woman at this time was approximately 31 years, but it is now believed that living longer during the Iron Age is an indication of coming from a privileged background.

It is impossible to know for sure when he died as we were unable to date the skull, but assuming the information we have for the year 1833 is correct, Hilda passed away at any time between 55 BC. and 400 A.D. and was of Celtic origin.

Meticulously reproducing the characteristics in waxKaren said this year's heat wave nearly melted Hilda's rebuilding before she came back to life.

It's fun to say now, but I had to keep parts of Hilda, like her wax-modeled ears, in the fridge for most of the summer. As a student traveling from Edinburgh, I had to keep it cool in the car and had it tied up in the passenger seat. I am sure it is a sight that passersby will not forget to see.

Hilda was recreated from an ancient skull from the University of Edinburgh Anatomical Museum and is described as one of the six «Skulls of the Druids of the Hebrides presented to the Edinburgh Phrenological Society in 1833”.

After studying History at the University and after many previous tests, Red Historia was born, a project that emerged as a means of dissemination where you can find the most important news of archeology, history and humanities, as well as articles of interest, curiosities and much more. In short, a meeting point for everyone where they can share information and continue learning.


Video: Modern Art Oxford. Talk 1974. Joseph Beuys

Sie stellen das Gesicht einer Druidenfrau aus der Eisenzeit in Schottland nach

Sie stellen das Gesicht einer Druidenfrau aus der Eisenzeit in Schottland nach

Ein Student an der University of Dundee hat erreicht Erstellen Sie das Gesicht einer der ältesten Druidenfrauen Schottlands nach, vermutlich in den 60ern, als er während der Eisenzeit starb.

Karen Fleming, eine Meisterschülerin für forensische Kunst und Gesichtserkennung, hat den Kopf einer Frau nachgebildet, von der angenommen wird, dass sie stammt Stornowayauf der Isle of Lewis.

Das 3-D-Wachsrekonstruktion stellt eine zahnlose Frau dar, Spitzname «Hilda«, Was man haben soll mehr als 60 Jahre, eine beeindruckende Leistung damals.

Fleming sagt, dass Hilda, obwohl sie Tausende von Jahren alt ist, zeigt viele physikalische Attribute an, die noch erkennbar sind heute.

Fleming erklärte das:

Hilda war eine faszinierende Figur, die man nachbauen konnte. Aus seinem Schädel geht hervor, dass er vor seinem Tod keine Zähne hatte, was angesichts der damaligen Ernährung der Menschen nicht allzu überraschend ist, aber es war beeindruckend zu bestätigen, wie lange er lebte. Die Lebenserwartung einer Frau betrug zu dieser Zeit ungefähr 31 Jahre, aber es wird jetzt angenommen, dass ein längeres Leben während der Eisenzeit ein Hinweis darauf ist, dass sie aus einem privilegierten Hintergrund stammt.

Es ist unmöglich sicher zu wissen, wann er starb, da wir den Schädel nicht datieren konnten, aber unter der Annahme, dass die Informationen, die wir für das Jahr 1833 haben, korrekt sind, starb Hilda jederzeit zwischen 55 v. und 400 A.D. und war keltischen Ursprungs.

Sorgfältige Wiedergabe der Eigenschaften in WachsKaren sagte, die diesjährige Hitzewelle hätte Hildas Wiederaufbau fast zum Schmelzen gebracht, bevor sie wieder zum Leben erweckt wurde.

Es macht Spaß, das jetzt zu sagen, aber ich musste Teile von Hilda, wie ihre Ohren mit Wachsmodell, den größten Teil des Sommers im Kühlschrank aufbewahren. Als Student, der aus Edinburgh angereist war, musste ich es im Auto kühl halten und auf dem Beifahrersitz festbinden. Ich bin sicher, es ist ein Anblick, den Passanten nicht vergessen werden zu sehen.

Hilda wurde aus einem alten Schädel des Anatomischen Museums der Universität von Edinburgh nachgebildet und wird als einer der sechs «beschriebenSchädel der Druiden der Hebriden wurden der Edinburgh Phrenological Society 1833 vorgestellt”.

Nach dem Studium der Geschichte an der Universität und nach vielen früheren Tests wurde Red Historia geboren, ein Projekt, das als Mittel zur Verbreitung entstanden ist und in dem Sie die wichtigsten Nachrichten aus den Bereichen Archäologie, Geschichte und Geisteswissenschaften sowie interessante Artikel, Kuriositäten und vieles mehr finden. Kurz gesagt, ein Treffpunkt für alle, an dem sie Informationen austauschen und weiter lernen können.


Video: Tutorial 3: Blende, Belichtungszeit und ISO-Wert in der Praxis