Dinosaurs and crocodiles lived in Guadalajara 95 million years ago

Dinosaurs and crocodiles lived in Guadalajara 95 million years ago



We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Just over 100 km from Madrid, not far from the A-2 motorway, it is difficult to imagine that large grazed dinosaurs sauropods and primitive marine reptiles and crocodiles swam in tropical coastal waters. They did it about 95 million years ago, early Upper Cretaceous, in what today is Algora, Guadalajara.

During a geology student excursion around the site, more than 25 years ago, one of the students found an isolated small carnivorous dinosaur tooth. Despite the exceptional find, interest in this fossil went unnoticed until six years ago, when a researcher from the National Distance Education University (UNED) noticed this discovery.

Since then, the UNED Evolutionary Biology Group has carried out a first paleontological intervention in 2016, together with other Spanish and foreign experts, and a second campaign has just ended in which more than 400 very well-preserved fossils of crocodiles, fish, plesiosaurs, turtles and titanosaurs, several of which could be new species to science.

"The fauna of Algora was very poorly known, given that it lived in a period for which little information is available for the whole of Europe, but which is fundamental to know how the establishment of the last faunas with dinosaurs and other contemporary reptiles took place. in this continent ”, says Adán Pérez García, principal investigator of the project.

The unique site not only completes the information on the last ecosystems dominated by dinosaurs in Europe, but also stands out for the abundance of its fossils, the preservation of the same and allows to identify poorly known species or new terrestrial vertebrates, freshwater, coastal marine, and open sea animals.

Scientists specifically emphasize the presence of turtles of the genus Algorachelus, of which there is still much to know and that partly motivated the project promoted by the Vice-Ministry of Culture of the Department of Education, Culture and Sports of Castilla-La Mancha.

The cretaceous fauna of Guadalajara

“The knowledge about Algorachelus can be radically improved, thanks to the discovery of numerous complete shells, both juvenile and adult individuals, but also the largest collection of skulls in all of Europe and one of the largest worldwide of the group to which this belongs turtle ”, details Pérez García.

In addition to the turtles, the campaign has brought to light the representatives of other previously poorly known lineages. "We have identified a greater diversity of fish than considered so far," says the scientist who has been able to recognize remains of fish of African origin.

This finding supports the hypothesis of the replacement of various European vertebrates by fauna from the southern landmass, called Gondwana and formed by Africa and South America. The first example of this dispersal was the Algorachelus peregrina tortoise, originating from what was now Africa and whose remains were found during the first campaign in Algora.

The successful excavation also shows the presence of various forms of crocodiles, of which very little information was had. “The new material allows us to recognize that some primitive crocodile lineages they still survived at the beginning of the Upper Cretaceous, along with forms attributable to more modern lineages, which ended up completely replacing them several million years later ”, says the paleontologist.

A partial skeleton of titanosaur

Algora's environment 95 million years ago was also the herbivorous dinosaur habitat. Far from being a desert environment as previously thought, the region was actually a tropical coastal area, with large forests, according to the great biodiversity of species discovered.

The group has in fact discovered a partial skeleton –vertebrae, elements of the girdle and limbs– of a relatively small herbivore, which could correspond to a new species of sauropod.

"It would be the oldest European representative of titanosaurs, which were one of the most abundant and diverse groups of dinosaurs in the deposits of the final part of the Cretaceous in this continent ”, indicates Adán Pérez García.

The analysis of the fossils will now allow us to know the origin of the European members of this lineage of sauropods, very common at the end of the period dominated by dinosaurs. "The possibility that the Algora sauropod is a new species is high, and the same may occur with representatives of other groups found during this excavation", concludes the researcher.


Video: Most AMAZING Fossil Discoveries Ever!

Dinosaurier und Krokodile lebten vor 95 Millionen Jahren in Guadalajara

Dinosaurier und Krokodile lebten vor 95 Millionen Jahren in Guadalajara

Etwas mehr als 100 km von Madrid entfernt, nicht weit von der Autobahn A-2 entfernt, ist es schwer vorstellbar, dass große Weideflächen weiden Dinosaurier Sauropoden und primitive Meeresreptilien und Krokodile schwammen in tropischen Küstengewässern. Sie haben es vor ungefähr 95 Millionen Jahren getan, frühe Oberkreide, in dem was heute ist Algora, Guadalajara.

Während eines geologischen Studentenausfluges in die Umgebung des Geländes vor mehr als 25 Jahren fand einer der Studenten einen isolierten kleiner fleischfressender Dinosaurierzahn. Trotz des außergewöhnlichen Fundes blieb das Interesse an diesem Fossil bis vor sechs Jahren unbemerkt, als ein Forscher der National Distance Education University (UNED) diese Entdeckung bemerkte.

Seitdem hat die UNED Evolutionary Biology Group 2016 zusammen mit anderen spanischen und ausländischen Experten eine erste paläontologische Intervention durchgeführt, und eine zweite Kampagne wurde gerade beendet, in der mehr als 400 sehr gut erhaltene Fossilien von Krokodile, Fische, Plesiosaurier, Schildkröten und TitanosaurierEinige davon könnten neue Arten in der Wissenschaft sein.

"Die Fauna von Algora war sehr wenig bekannt, da sie in einer Zeit lebte, für die für ganz Europa nur wenige Informationen verfügbar sind, die jedoch von grundlegender Bedeutung ist, um zu wissen, wie die Gründung der letzten Faunen mit Dinosauriern und anderen zeitgenössischen Reptilien erfolgte. auf diesem Kontinent “, sagt Adán Pérez García, Hauptforscher des Projekts.

Die einzigartige Website vervollständigt nicht nur die Informationen zu den letzten Ökosystemen, die von Dinosauriern in Europa dominiert werden, sondern auch zeichnet sich durch die Fülle seiner Fossilien aus, ihre Erhaltung und ermöglicht die Identifizierung von wenig bekannten Arten oder neuen Landwirbeltieren, Süßwasser-, Küstenmeer- und offenen Meerestieren.

Wissenschaftler betonen ausdrücklich die Anwesenheit von Schildkröten der Gattung Algorachelus, von denen es noch viel zu wissen gibt und die teilweise das vom Vizeministerium für Kultur des Ministeriums für Bildung, Kultur und Sport von Castilla-La Mancha geförderte Projekt motivierten.

Die Kreidefauna von Guadalajara

„Das Wissen über Algorachelus kann dank der Entdeckung zahlreicher vollständiger Muscheln, sowohl jugendlicher als auch erwachsener Individuen, aber auch der größten Sammlung von Schädeln in ganz Europa und einer der weltweit größten der Gruppe, zu der diese gehört, radikal verbessert werden Schildkröte “, Details Pérez García.

Zusätzlich zu den Schildkröten hat die Kampagne die Vertreter anderer bisher wenig bekannter Abstammungslinien ans Licht gebracht. "Wir haben eine größere Vielfalt an Fischen festgestellt als bisher angenommen", sagt der Wissenschaftler, der in der Lage war, Fischreste afrikanischen Ursprungs zu erkennen.

Dieser Befund unterstützt die Hypothese des Ersatzes verschiedener europäischer Wirbeltiere durch Fauna aus der südlichen Landmasse, genannt Gondwana und von Afrika und Südamerika gebildet. Das erste Beispiel für diese Verbreitung war die Schildkröte Algorachelus peregrina, die aus dem heutigen Afrika stammt und deren Überreste während des ersten Feldzugs in Algora gefunden wurden.

Die erfolgreiche Ausgrabung zeigt auch das Vorhandensein verschiedener Formen von Krokodilen, über die nur sehr wenige Informationen vorliegen. „Das neue Material ermöglicht es uns, einige zu erkennen primitive Krokodillinien Sie überlebten noch zu Beginn der Oberkreide, zusammen mit Formen, die auf modernere Abstammungslinien zurückzuführen waren, die sie einige Millionen Jahre später vollständig ersetzten “, sagt der Paläontologe.

Ein Teilskelett des Titanosauriers

Algoras Umwelt vor 95 Millionen Jahren war auch die pflanzenfressender Dinosaurierlebensraum. Weit davon entfernt, wie bisher angenommen, eine Wüstenumgebung zu sein, war die Region tatsächlich ein tropisches Küstengebiet mit großen Wäldern, entsprechend der großen Artenvielfalt der entdeckten Arten.

Die Gruppe hat tatsächlich ein Teilskelett - Wirbel, Elemente des Gürtels und der Gliedmaßen - eines relativ kleinen Pflanzenfressers entdeckt, das a entsprechen könnte neue Sauropodenarten.

"Es wäre das ältester europäischer Vertreter der Titanosaurier, die eine der am häufigsten vorkommenden und vielfältigsten Gruppen von Dinosauriern in den Lagerstätten des letzten Teils der Kreidezeit auf diesem Kontinent waren “, berichtet Adán Pérez García.

Die Analyse der Fossilien wird es uns nun ermöglichen, die zu kennen Herkunft der europäischen Mitglieder dieser Linie von Sauropoden, sehr häufig am Ende der Periode von Dinosauriern dominiert. "Die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass es sich bei dem Algora-Sauropoden um eine neue Art handelt, ist hoch, und dies kann auch bei Vertretern anderer Gruppen auftreten, die bei dieser Ausgrabung gefunden wurden", schließt der Forscher.


Video: Die ersten Minuten nach dem Verschwinden der Dinosaurier