The Capitol and other places with history to discover in Washington

The Capitol and other places with history to discover in Washington



We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

If we think of the United States, and specifically its capital, Washington, history goes back 200 years. Few years for how time is measured and the legacy of other cities, especially those that we find in Europe. But what makes it peculiar and different is that Washington was carefully designed and built.

Although previously the title of capital was held New York and PhiladelphiaSince 1800, the so-called capital of democracy is named after the first president of the United States.

If you are planning to travel to the United States, we recommend that you stay in Washington. From here we will try to inspire and convince you, with the places you can go, things to do, and soak up its short, but interesting history that is reflected in its monuments.

When starting to plan a destination, it is advisable to let us advise with the preparations that must be taken into account before the trip: vaccinations, information about the place, climate, language, insurance, health, currency, recommended days of stay, excursions, etc. One of the things we suggest to do in advance is to have the necessary documentation: mainly passports and visas.

In the case of Spanish citizens who wish to travel to the United States, they do not need a visa if the reason for the trip is for tourism or business and if the stay is less than 90 days.

But it is necessary to process a travel authorization requestTHIS, that selects visitors. The reason for its implementation was to strengthen the country's security and protection measures.

The procedure is easy and fast and is done online, you must fill out aform online, the data is verified and if you meet the requirements, you will receive the authorization electronically. It is valid for 2 years as long as the electronic passport is valid.

It is a pre-travel authorization and Spain is one of the Visa-exempt countries, although this does not guarantee admission to the United States, ESTA is only a mandatory permit to travel or transit through it.

Already inWashington, it is essential to start our visit by the National Esplanade or National Mall, because here the most important monuments meet.

The capitol It houses the congress, made up of two legislative bodies: the Senate and the House of Representatives, and a visitor center with exhibition halls, restaurants, a projection room, where the political life of the federal capital is remembered.

The rotunda is the core of the Capitol, with a vault painted at 55 meters with scenes from the War of Independence. The building has undergone several extensions, due to deterioration or lack of space.

During the visit you can visit the senators' offices or witness sessions, with special passes requesting them in advance with prior reservation.

The Library of Congress It deserves a special attention and stop on our visit. More than 100 million books houses this building joined to the previous one by means of a tunnel.

The White House, the most famous official residence in the world, where you visit the east wing. The Red Room, the Blue Room and the Green Room, the state dining room, the Chinese room and the rose garden, upon request and reservation of tickets through the embassy.

We can admire the huge Obelisk, as a tribute to its founder, the first president, and that it took 40 years to build.

And thehistory remember his famous characters like Roosevelt, Luther King, Thomas Jefferson or The Lincoln Memorial, erecting monuments to them, many of them advocating the freedom, unity and democracy of the country, or paying homage to the fallen.

Famous for the movies, theArlington National Cemetery, is another of the corners that are loaded with history and stories in Washington, 250 hectares with tombstones of soldiers killed in the Civil War, in the two World Wars, in Vietnam, Korea, Afghanistan or Iraq, of the most recent history.

There are museums that make us look back in history as:

  • Museum of the History of the United States, with belongings of the presidents of the USA and collections of objects of the cinematographic industry.
  • Military History.
  • Air and Space Museum, takes us to commemorate the first flights of man on Earth and on the Moon. We found the Wright brothers' plane from the Apollo XI space shuttle.
  • The natural history museum. Dinosaurs, Fossils, skeletons, animals, nature in general.
  • The National Museum of the American Indians. It brings us closer to the rich past and present culture of these natives.
  • The Holocaust museum with photographs of the Nazi genocide.
  • Naval Museum.

Take a break in its Parks, stroll through the potomac river, or delighting in the 3000 Japanese cherry trees donated in 1912, complete the tour of the most emblematic corners of this city.


Video: Ghost Towns - a haunted trip through Washington state

Das Kapitol und andere Orte mit Geschichte in Washington zu entdecken

Das Kapitol und andere Orte mit Geschichte in Washington zu entdecken

Wenn wir an die Vereinigten Staaten und insbesondere an ihre Hauptstadt denken, WashingtonDie Geschichte reicht 200 Jahre zurück. Wenige Jahre für die Zeitmessung und das Erbe anderer Städte, insbesondere derjenigen, die wir in Europa finden. Aber was es eigenartig und anders macht, ist das Washington wurde sorgfältig entworfen und gebaut.

Obwohl zuvor der Titel des Kapitals gehalten wurde New York und PhiladelphiaSeit 1800 ist die sogenannte Hauptstadt der Demokratie nach dem ersten Präsidenten der Vereinigten Staaten benannt.

Wenn Sie planen, in die USA zu reisen, empfehlen wir Ihnen, in Washington zu bleiben. Von hier aus werden wir versuchen, Sie zu begeistern und zu überzeugen, mit den Orten, an die Sie gehen können, Dinge zu tun und die kurze, aber interessante Geschichte aufzunehmen, die sich in den Denkmälern widerspiegelt.

Wenn Sie mit der Planung eines Reiseziels beginnen, sollten Sie uns die Vorbereitungen mitteilen, die vor der Reise berücksichtigt werden müssen: Impfungen, Informationen zu Ort, Wetter, Sprache, Versicherung, Gesundheit, Währung, empfohlenen Aufenthaltstagen, Ausflüge usw. Eines der Dinge, die wir im Voraus vorschlagen, ist die notwendige Dokumentation: hauptsächlich Pässe und Visa.

Für spanische Staatsbürger, die in die USA reisen möchten, benötigen sie kein Visum, wenn der Grund für die Reise aus touristischen oder geschäftlichen Gründen liegt und der Aufenthalt weniger als 90 Tage beträgt.

Es ist jedoch erforderlich, einen Antrag auf Reisegenehmigung zu bearbeitenDIES, das wählt Besucher aus. Der Grund für die Umsetzung war die Stärkung der Sicherheits- und Schutzmaßnahmen des Landes.

Der Vorgang ist einfach und schnell und erfolgt online. Sie müssen a ausfüllenbilden Online werden die Daten überprüft und wenn Sie die Anforderungen erfüllen, erhalten Sie die Autorisierung elektronisch. Es ist 2 Jahre gültig, solange der elektronische Reisepass gültig ist.

Es handelt sich um eine Genehmigung vor Reiseantritt, und Spanien ist eines der von der Visumpflicht befreiten Länder. Dies garantiert zwar nicht die Einreise in die Vereinigten Staaten, ESTA ist jedoch nur eine obligatorische Genehmigung für die Einreise oder Durchreise.

Bereits inWashington, ist es wichtig, unseren Besuch an der National Esplanade oder zu beginnen National Mall, denn hier treffen sich die wichtigsten Denkmäler.

Das Capitol Es beherbergt den Kongress, der aus zwei gesetzgebenden Körperschaften besteht: dem Senat und dem Repräsentantenhaus, sowie ein Besucherzentrum mit Ausstellungshallen, Restaurants und einem Projektionsraum, in dem das politische Leben der Bundeshauptstadt in Erinnerung bleibt.

Die Rotunde ist der Kern des Kapitols, mit einem 55 Meter hohen Gewölbe mit Szenen aus dem Unabhängigkeitskrieg. Das Gebäude wurde aufgrund von Verschlechterung oder Platzmangel mehrfach erweitert.

Während des Besuchs können Sie die Büros der Senatoren oder Zeugenaussagen besuchen. Sonderpässe werden nach vorheriger Reservierung im Voraus angefordert.

Die Kongressbibliothek Es verdient besondere Aufmerksamkeit und hört bei unserem Besuch auf. Mehr als 100 Millionen Bücher beherbergen dieses Gebäude, das durch einen Tunnel mit dem vorherigen verbunden ist.

Das weiße Haus, Die berühmteste offizielle Residenz der Welt, in der Sie den Ostflügel besuchen. Das rote Zimmer, das blaue Zimmer und das grüne Zimmer, der staatliche Speisesaal, der chinesische Raum und der Rosengarten auf Anfrage und Reservierung von Tickets über die Botschaft.

Wir können das riesige bewundern ObeliskAls Hommage an seinen Gründer, den ersten Präsidenten, und dessen Bau 40 Jahre gedauert hat.

Und dasGeschichte erinnern seine berühmten Charaktere mögen Roosevelt, Luther King, Thomas Jefferson oder das Lincoln MemorialViele von ihnen errichteten Denkmäler und setzten sich für die Freiheit, Einheit und Demokratie des Landes ein oder huldigten den Gefallenen.

Berühmt für die Filme, dieArlington National CemeteryEs ist eine weitere Ecke voller Geschichte und Geschichten in Washington, 250 Hektar mit Grabsteinen von Soldaten, die im Bürgerkrieg, in den beiden Weltkriegen in Vietnam, Korea, Afghanistan oder im Irak der jüngsten Geschichte gestorben sind.

Es gibt Museen, die uns in die Geschichte zurückblicken lassen als:

  • Museum für die Geschichte der Vereinigten Staaten mit Gegenständen von US-Präsidenten und Sammlungen von Objekten aus der Filmindustrie.
  • Militärgeschichte.
  • Das Museum für Luft und Raum erinnert uns an die ersten Menschenflüge auf der Erde und auf dem Mond. Wir fanden das Flugzeug der Gebrüder Wright vom Apollo XI Space Shuttle.
  • Das Naturhistorische Museum. Dinosaurier, Fossilien, Skelette, Tiere, Natur im Allgemeinen.
  • Das Nationalmuseum der Indianer. Es bringt uns der reichen Vergangenheit und Gegenwart dieser Eingeborenen näher.
  • Das Holocaust-Museum mit Fotografien des Völkermords an den Nazis.
  • Marinemuseum.

Machen Sie eine Pause in den Parks und schlendern Sie durch die der PotomacWenn Sie sich an den 3.000 japanischen Kirschbäumen erfreuen, die 1912 gespendet wurden, können Sie die Tour durch die emblematischsten Ecken dieser Stadt abschließen.


Video: The White House and Capitol Hill in Washington, DC