Fossil of an unknown dinosaur found in Brazil

Fossil of an unknown dinosaur found in Brazil



We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

A fossil about 115 million years old was found in northeast Brazil. It belongs to a hitherto unknown species of dinosaur.

Its about "Aratasaurus museunacionali", A new species of medium-sized theropod, which reached 3.12 meters in height and could weigh up to 34.25 kilograms.

The fossil was found in 2008 in a geological region in the state of Ceará and the results of research carried out by scientists from the Federal University of Pernambuco, the National Museum of Rio and the Regional University of Cariri.

This finding will help to understand the evolutionary history of theropods, which make up the group of carnivorous dinosaurs whose current representatives are birds. In addition, it is a sign that other types of carnivorous dinosaurs inhabited that region of the country millions of years ago.

As the fossil is unique it contains all the information about that species. After being discovered in a gypsum mine in 2008, the Aratasaurus fossil was transferred to the Placido Cidade Nuvens Museum of Paleontology, in Ceará, and then sent to the Academic Center of Vitória, of the Federal University of Pernambuco, to be prepared and studied.

This process was delayed and slow because the preparation involved removing the rock that surrounded the fossil, which was in fragile conditions that made the work complex.

Between 2008 and 2016, microscopic analyzes of their tissues were carried out using small samples of the bones, as well as a scanning electron microscopy with which a greater amount of information was obtained with which it has been possible to make a reconstruction of what this animal would be like in lifetime.

Via Federal University of Pernambuco.


Video: Dinosaur Foot is Best-Preserved Theropod Fossil in Brazil. National Geographic

Fossil eines unbekannten Dinosauriers in Brasilien gefunden

Fossil eines unbekannten Dinosauriers in Brasilien gefunden

Im Nordosten Brasiliens wurde ein etwa 115 Millionen Jahre altes Fossil gefunden. Es gehört zu einer bislang unbekannten Dinosaurierart.

Es geht um "Aratasaurus museunacionali”, Eine neue Art mittelgroßer Theropoden, die eine Höhe von 3,12 Metern erreichte und bis zu 34,25 Kilogramm wiegen konnte.

Das Fossil wurde 2008 in einer geologischen Region im Bundesstaat Ceará gefunden und die Ergebnisse von Forschungen von Wissenschaftlern der Bundesuniversität Pernambuco, des Nationalmuseums Rio und der Regionaluniversität Cariri.

Dieser Befund wird dazu beitragen, die Evolutionsgeschichte der Theropoden zu verstehen, aus denen die Gruppe der fleischfressenden Dinosaurier besteht, deren derzeitige Vertreter Vögel sind. Darüber hinaus ist es ein Zeichen dafür, dass andere Arten von fleischfressenden Dinosauriern vor Millionen von Jahren in dieser Region des Landes lebten.

Da das Fossil einzigartig ist, enthält es alle Informationen über diese Art. Nachdem er 2008 in einer Gipsmine entdeckt wurde, Das Aratasaurus-Fossil wurde in das Paläontologische Museum Placido Cidade Nuvens überführtin Ceará und dann an das Akademische Zentrum von Vitória der Bundesuniversität von Pernambuco geschickt, um vorbereitet und studiert zu werden.

Dieser Prozess war verzögert und langsam, da bei der Vorbereitung das das Fossil umgebende Gestein entfernt wurde, das sich unter spröden Bedingungen befand, die die Arbeit komplex machten.

Zwischen 2008 und 2016 wurden mikroskopische Analysen ihres Gewebes unter Verwendung kleiner Knochenproben sowie eine Rasterelektronenmikroskopie durchgeführt, mit der eine größere Menge an Informationen erhalten wurde, mit denen eine Rekonstruktion des Tieres möglich war Lebenszeit.

Über Bundesuniversität Pernambuco.


Video: Mysteriöses Fossil: Dinosaurier-Ei in Antarktis gefunden