How did humans get to Eurasia? 120,000-year-old footprints found in Saudi Arabia give a clue

How did humans get to Eurasia? 120,000-year-old footprints found in Saudi Arabia give a clue

These are the first direct signs of human presence found on the Arabian peninsula.

A team of researchers managed to reconstruct in detail how, around 120,000 years ago, a group of Homo sapiens stopped near a shallow lake, in what is now known as northern Saudi Arabia, to probably drink water or follow the herds of camels, elephants or wild donkeys that frequented those marshes. Their tracks dried up and fossilized, leaving scientists with rare evidence of the presence of humans on the Arabian Peninsula.

The scene is described in a study published by the journal Science Advances this Thursday, from those 120,000-year-old human footprints found in the Nefud desert.

Archaeologist Michael Petraglia, leader of the research team at the Max Planck Institute for the Science of Human History, noted that "they are the first genuine human footprints in Arabia," a region long considered a migration route for the ancients representatives of our species, from Africa to the Middle East and Eurasia.

Previously, human exploration of the Arabian Peninsula was only evidenced by stone tools found in the area. Until now, the only evidence that the region was populated by humans and not just some other hominin had been an 88,000-year-old human finger bone.

Scientists identified tens of thousands of ancient freshwater reservoirs, including one in the Nefud Desert, calledAlathar, which in Arabic means 'the trail'. There they detected hundreds of footprints in its bed, mostly left by camels, elephants, giant buffalo or wild asses, and discovered that seven of them belonged to humans.

When comparing the size and shape of those footprints with those of Neanderthals, the researchers argued that they were left rather by representatives of Homo sapiens, since in all probability they must have belonged to taller people, with longer feet and lower body mass. .

They also determined that the sediments above and below the footprints are between 121,000 and 112,000 years old, respectively, times when there were no longer Neanderthals in the Middle East and, therefore, one more indication in favor of the hypothesis that they were Homo sapiens. explained study co-author Mathew Stewart.

Speaking to AFP, Stewart asserted that his work shows that "inland routes that follow lakes and rivers they may have been particularly important for humans to spread out of Africa. '

Petraglia, for his part, pointed out to the same agency that “the presence of large animals, such as elephants and hippos, together with open grasslands and large water reserves, may have made northern Arabiaa particularly attractive place for humans moving between Africa and Eurasia. '

However, researchers also cannot completely rule out that Neanderthals may have left those traces, argues paleoanthropologist Marta Mirazón Lahr, from the University of Cambridge, although she also personally favors Homo sapiens as the most likely candidate.


Video: Pre-human footprints give mating clues

Wie sind Menschen nach Eurasien gekommen? 120.000 Jahre alte Fußabdrücke in Saudi-Arabien geben einen Hinweis

Wie sind Menschen nach Eurasien gekommen? 120.000 Jahre alte Fußabdrücke in Saudi-Arabien geben einen Hinweis

Dies sind die ersten direkten Anzeichen menschlicher Präsenz auf der arabischen Halbinsel.

Ein Forscherteam konnte detailliert rekonstruieren, wie vor etwa 120.000 Jahren eine Gruppe von Homo sapiens in der Nähe eines flachen Sees im heutigen Norden Saudi-Arabiens anhielt, um wahrscheinlich Wasser zu trinken oder den Herden zu folgen von Kamelen, Elefanten oder wilden Eseln, die diese Sümpfe frequentierten. Ihre Spuren trockneten aus und versteinerten, was den Wissenschaftlern seltene Hinweise auf die Anwesenheit von Menschen auf der arabischen Halbinsel hinterließ.

Die Szene wird in einer Studie beschrieben, die an diesem Donnerstag von der Zeitschrift Science Advances veröffentlicht wurde und die 120.000 Jahre alten menschlichen Fußabdrücke enthält, die in der Wüste Nefud gefunden wurden.

Der Archäologe Michael Petraglia, Leiter des Forschungsteams am Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaft der Menschheitsgeschichte, stellte fest, dass "sie die ersten echten menschlichen Fußabdrücke in Arabien sind", einer Region, die seit langem als Migrationsroute für die Alten gilt. Vertreter unserer Spezies, von Afrika über den Nahen Osten bis nach Eurasien.

Bisher wurde die Erforschung der Arabischen Halbinsel durch Menschen nur durch Steinwerkzeuge in der Region belegt. Bisher war der einzige Beweis dafür, dass die Region von Menschen und nicht nur von einem anderen Hominin bevölkert war, ein 88.000 Jahre alter menschlicher Fingerknochen.

Wissenschaftler identifizierten Zehntausende von alten Süßwasserreservoirs, darunter eines in der Nefud-WüsteAlathar, was auf Arabisch "die Spur" bedeutet. Dort entdeckten sie Hunderte von Fußspuren in seinem Bett, die meist von Kamelen, Elefanten, Riesenbüffeln oder wilden Eseln hinterlassen wurden, und stellten fest, dass sieben von ihnen Menschen gehörten.

Beim Vergleich der Größe und Form dieser Fußabdrücke mit denen von Neandertalern argumentierten die Forscher, dass sie eher von Vertretern des Homo sapiens zurückgelassen wurden, da sie höchstwahrscheinlich größeren Menschen mit längeren Füßen und geringerer Körpermasse gehört haben müssen. .

Sie stellten auch fest, dass die Sedimente über und unter den Fußabdrücken zwischen 121.000 und 112.000 Jahre alt sind, als es im Nahen Osten keine Neandertaler mehr gab, und daher ein weiterer Hinweis für die Hypothese, dass sie Homo sapiens waren. erklärte Studienkoautor Mathew Stewart.

Im Gespräch mit AFP behauptete Stewart, dass seine Arbeit dies zeige. "Binnenrouten, die Seen und Flüssen folgen Möglicherweise war es für den Menschen besonders wichtig, sich aus Afrika auszubreiten. '

Petraglia seinerseits erklärte gegenüber derselben Behörde, dass „die Anwesenheit großer Tiere wie Elefanten und Flusspferde zusammen mit offenem Grasland und großen Wasserreserven Nordarabien möglicherweise verursacht hatein besonders attraktiver Ort für Menschen, die sich zwischen Afrika und Eurasien bewegen. '

Forscher können jedoch nicht vollständig ausschließen, dass Neandertaler diese Spuren hinterlassen haben könnten, argumentiert die Paläoanthropologin Marta Mirazón Lahr von der Universität Cambridge, obwohl sie Homo sapiens auch persönlich als wahrscheinlichste Kandidatin bevorzugt.


Video: Wie der Neandertaler in Europa lebte und starb. Quarks