Parasite eggs found in fossil feces of more than 125 million years in Cuenca

Parasite eggs found in fossil feces of more than 125 million years in Cuenca



We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

The exceptional preservation of fossil feces, called coprolites, from the Las Hoyas deposit in Cuenca, has allowed the identification of parasite eggs in two remains attributed to fish and crocodiles. The find also documents the ancient connection between fishGonorynchiformes basal and trematode parasites.

Thecoprolites They are fossilized animal feces that can provide a lot of information about ancient ecosystems, not only about predator-prey relationships, but also about parasite-host interactions.

"Parasites generally need different hosts in order to complete their biological cycle, and these are sometimes very specific", explain the authors of a work published in the journalScientific Reports which describes the finding of parasite eggs in fossilized feces from the Las Hoyas site in Cuenca.

The discovery "gives us clues about the trophic relationships of the animals that lived in Las Hoyas: depending on the type of parasite we find and its biological stage, we can establish with precision the possible producer of the coprolite, as well as its possible prey" , the scientists continue.

The work, led by the Paleontology Unit and the Center for Integration in Paleobiology of the Autonomous University of Madrid (UAM), and which has had the participation of the Department of Parasitology of the University of Granada (UGR), has described the presence of helminth eggs (parasitic worms) in coprolites between 129 and 126 million years old.

Intermediate guests

Scientists found flatworms (worm-shaped parasites) of the classTrematoda, which are a type of parasites that need several intermediate hosts to complete their biological cycle.

"For trematodes, the first host must necessarily be a mollusk, for example a snail, and in this case, it needs a second intermediate host (generally a fish), although it can also be a crustacean", the authors emphasize. what is foundAntonio Osuna Carrillo de Albornoz, Professor of the Department of Parasitology of the UGR and director of the University Institute of Biotechnology.

"TheGuest The definitive parasite of the parasite becomes infected when it ingests the fish or crustacean where the metacercaria of the parasite has developed (one of the stages of its biological cycle), reaching maturity in the digestive system of the definitive host, which can be animals such as reptiles, birds, mammals (including humans, currently) or larger fish ”, describe the experts.

"It is in the definitive host - they add - where the parasite arrives as an adult and will deposit the eggs, which will be expelled in its faeces, starting the biological cycle of this type of parasite again", they emphasize.

In the case of Las Hoyas, a trematode egg has been found in a coprolite attributed to a fish, probably an adult teleost fish or an amiiform, as well as fossil remains of intermediate hosts such as snails, crustaceans, and smaller fish.

In fact, the coprolite where this egg was found shows remains of crustaceans in its interior, which corresponds to the life cycle of fluke parasites. The producer of the coprolite would ingest crustaceans infected with the larvae of the parasite in their diet, and once adults, they produced the eggs that have been found in the feces.

The study also shows that gonorynchiform fish, close relatives of siluriformes, could have played a relevant role in the life cycle of these parasites, acting as hosts for the flukes of this ancient ecosystem.

“This is just one example of all the information that can be gleaned from this type of research. In the study, we also evaluated the life cycle of two nematodes, belonging to the genus Anisakis, whose eggs were found in the same coprolite as the trematode, and in another coprolite attributed to a reptile, probably a crocodile ”, the researchers conclude.

Biobliography:

Barrios-De Pedro, S. et al. 2020. "Helminth eggs from early cretaceous faeces"Scientific Reports10, 18747.
Source: Sinc, UGR, UAM
Rights: Creative Commons.


Video: CLP Bus to Guayaquil Ecuador from the Coast Part 5

Parasiteneier, die in Cuenca in fossilen Fäkalien von mehr als 125 Millionen Jahren gefunden wurden

Parasiteneier, die in Cuenca in fossilen Fäkalien von mehr als 125 Millionen Jahren gefunden wurden

Die außergewöhnliche Konservierung fossiler Fäkalien, Koprolithen genannt, aus der Lagerstätte Las Hoyas in Cuenca hat die Identifizierung von Parasiteneiern in zwei Überresten ermöglicht, die Fischen und Krokodilen zugeschrieben werden. Der Fund dokumentiert auch die alte Verbindung zwischen FischenGonorynchiformes Basal- und Trematodenparasiten.

DasKoprolithen Es handelt sich um versteinerte tierische Fäkalien, die viele Informationen über alte Ökosysteme liefern können, nicht nur über Beziehungen zwischen Raubtieren und Beutetieren, sondern auch über Wechselwirkungen zwischen Wirt und Parasit.

"Parasiten benötigen im Allgemeinen unterschiedliche Wirte, um ihren biologischen Zyklus zu vervollständigen, und diese sind manchmal sehr spezifisch", erklären die Autoren einer in der Zeitschrift veröffentlichten ArbeitWissenschaftliche Berichte Dies beschreibt den Fund von Parasiteneiern in versteinerten Fäkalien am Standort Las Hoyas in Cuenca.

Die Entdeckung "gibt uns Hinweise auf die trophischen Beziehungen der Tiere, die in Las Hoyas lebten: Abhängig von der Art des Parasiten und seinem biologischen Stadium können wir den möglichen Produzenten des Koprolithen sowie seine mögliche Beute genau bestimmen." Wissenschaftler fahren fort.

Die Arbeit, die von der Abteilung für Paläontologie und dem Zentrum für Integration in die Paläobiologie der Autonomen Universität Madrid (UAM) geleitet wurde und an der die Abteilung für Parasitologie der Universität Granada (UGR) beteiligt war, hat die Vorhandensein von Wurmeiern (parasitären Würmern) in Koprolithen zwischen 129 und 126 Millionen Jahren.

Zwischengäste

Wissenschaftler fanden Plattwürmer (wurmartige Parasiten) der KlasseTrematodaDies sind Parasiten, die mehrere Zwischenwirte benötigen, um ihren biologischen Zyklus abzuschließen.

"Bei Trematoden muss der erste Wirt notwendigerweise eine Molluske sein, zum Beispiel eine Schnecke, und in diesem Fall benötigt er einen zweiten Zwischenwirt (im Allgemeinen einen Fisch), obwohl es sich auch um ein Krebstier handeln kann", betonen die Autoren. was gefunden wirdAntonio Osuna Carrillo de Albornoz, Professor der Abteilung für Parasitologie der UGR und Direktor des Universitätsinstituts für Biotechnologie.

"DasGast Der endgültige Parasit des Parasiten wird infiziert, wenn er den Fisch oder das Krebstier aufnimmt, in dem sich die Metacercaria des Parasiten entwickelt hat (eines der Stadien seines biologischen Zyklus), und im Verdauungssystem des endgültigen Wirts, das Tiere wie Reptilien, Vögel usw. Säugetiere (einschließlich Menschen derzeit) oder größere Fische “, beschreiben die Experten.

"Es ist der endgültige Wirt - sie fügen hinzu -, an dem der Parasit als Erwachsener ankommt und die Eier ablegt, die in seinen Kot ausgestoßen werden, wodurch der biologische Zyklus dieser Art von Parasit wieder beginnt", betonen sie.

Im Fall von Las Hoyas wurde ein Trematodenei in einem Koprolithen gefunden, der einem Fisch zugeschrieben wird, wahrscheinlich einem erwachsenen Teleostfisch oder einer Amiiform, sowie fossilen Überresten von Zwischenwirten wie Schnecken, Krebstieren und kleineren Fischen.

Tatsächlich zeigt der Koprolit, in dem dieses Ei gefunden wurde, Reste von Krebstieren in seinem Inneren, was dem Lebenszyklus von Zufallsparasiten entspricht. Der Produzent des Koprolithen nahm Krebstiere auf, die mit den Larven des Parasiten infiziert waren, und produzierte als Erwachsene die Eier, die im Kot gefunden wurden.

Die Studie zeigt auch, dass gonorynchiforme Fische, nahe Verwandte von Siluriformes, eine relevante Rolle im Lebenszyklus dieser Parasiten gespielt haben könnten, die als Wirte für die Egel dieses alten Ökosystems fungieren.

„Dies ist nur ein Beispiel für alle Informationen, die aus dieser Art von Forschung gewonnen werden können. In der Studie untersuchten wir auch den Lebenszyklus von zwei Nematoden der Gattung Anisakis, deren Eier im selben Koprolithen wie der Trematode und in einem anderen Koprolithen gefunden wurden, der einem Reptil, wahrscheinlich einem Krokodil, zugeschrieben wird “, schließen die Forscher.

Biobliographie:

Barrios-De Pedro, S. et al. 2020. "Helmintheneier aus frühen Kreidekot"Wissenschaftliche Berichte10, 18747.
Quelle: Sinc, UGR, UAM
Rechte: Creative Commons.


Video: Cuenca Ecuador on a $1500 Budget. Can you live in Cuenca Ecuador on a $1,500 Social Security Check?